ESRB RatingsIf you are new to gaming, make sure you understand the rating system set up by the Entertainment Software Rating Board (ESRB) to help you navigate the age-appropriateness and content of many games. The ESRB is a self-regulating non-profit organization  that assigns ratings to games on a voluntary basis. The system it developed was based on research with parents and experts in the field of child development. It is important to note that the ESRB can only provide guidance on the content of games and should not used as an endorsement of quality.

Here is a summary:

  • EC= Early childhood, age three and older
  • E= Everyone, age six and older
  • E10+ : Everyone, age 10 and older
  • T= Teen, age 13 and older
  • M= Mature, age 17 and older
  • A= Adults only content
  • R= Rating pending, a final rating has not been assigned.

Each game package provides a clearly labeled rating symbol and descriptors. Be sure to visit ESRB for more information about their rating system or to search specific game ratings.