Submitted by pinelands on

Award season is right around the corner, and we’re not talking about the Oscars and the Golden Globes. We’re talking about the ALA Youth Media Awards!

Each year the American Library Association honors books, videos, and other outstanding material for children and teens. Two of the most sought-after awards are the Caldecott Medal and the Newbery Medal. First handed out in 1921, the Newbery award is actually the first children’s book award in the world. Each year, it is given to the most distinguished American children’s book published the previous year. The Caldecott award was created in 1937 to also recognize the artists creating children’s picture books. This medal is given to the most distinguished picture book of the previous year.

Before the next round of winners are announced on Jan. 23, we polled children’s librarians across our branches to see what books get their vote this year. Here’s their top picks for 2016:

Miss Kristie at Cinnaminson:

Miss Holly at Evesham:

Miss Nancy at Bordentown:

Miss Megan at Maple Shade:

Miss Ann Marie at Bordentown:

Miss Theresa at Pemberton:

Miss Danielle at Pinelands: