A Bit of History
In 1817, the Crosswicks Library Company was officially incorporated to serve the needs of the community of Chesterfield, New Jersey. The library's home shifted constantly; it was moved from private home to private home. The library's books were donated by businesses and private citizens for the enjoyment of all. In 1931, the Union Fire Company allowed the library to use the upper floor of the fire house as the library's permanent location. By 1962 the library had outgrown the Fire Company's second floor and had moved across the street to the balcony of the Community Center. A final move was made back to the old Fire House in 1968 (the library's present location) when the fire company moved out and allowed the library to use the entire building.
Today, the library continues to serve its original purpose. Nestled in the heart of the picturesque village of Crosswicks, the library continues to serve the reading needs of the people of Chesterfield Township.